Print this page
Brochure:
Home Insurance Is Yours Up to Date?
Français

Types of Home Insurance Policies You Can Buy and What They Cover

Types of Home Insurance Policies You Can Buy and What They Cover There are several types of insurance polices you can purchase. Please remember that the wording and what is covered may vary within these general categories from one insurance company to another. Trade names may also be used.

Comprehensive

This is the most inclusive home insurance policy; it covers both the building and its contents for all risks, except for those specifically excluded. There are two types of insurance risks that are not normally included in any home insurance policy – those for which you can buy insurance (“optional coverage”) and those for which insurance is not available (“uninsurable peril").

Basic/Named Perils

If you are looking to save money by carrying the financial risk of some losses yourself, you may wish to consider a named perils policy that covers only those perils that are specifically stated in the policy.

Broad

If the comprehensive policy costs more than you want to pay and the named perils policy seems too risky, a mid-priced compromise is the broad insurance policy. This policy provides comprehensive coverage on the big-ticket items like the building and named perils coverage on the contents.

No Frills

Some insurers offer very basic or “No Frills” coverage for properties that don’t meet their normal standards. If there are physical problems with your home that keep it from meeting insurers' standards, you may save money in the long run by correcting these problems in order to qualify for better coverage.

^Back to top

Mazak Award Winner Links | Sitemap | Privacy | Disclaimer    Insurance Bureau of Canada. All rights reserved.

Imprimer cette page
Publication :
L'assurance habiation démystifiée
English

Types de polices d’assurance habitation que vous pouvez souscrire et ce qu’elles couvrent

Il y a plusieurs types de polices d’assurance que vous pouvez souscrire. N’oubliez pas que le libellé et l’étendue de la protection peuvent varier à l’intérieur de ces catégories générales et ce, d’une compagnie d’assurance à une autre. Des appellations commerciales peuvent également être utilisées.


La formule tous risques « sauf »

Il s’agit de la police d’assurance habitation la plus globale; elle couvre tous les risques (bâtiment et contenu), sauf ceux qui sont expressément exclus.   Il y a deux types de risques en assurance qui ne sont normalement pas inclus dans une police d’assurance habitation – ceux à l’égard desquels vous pouvez vous assurer (« protection facultative ») et ceux pour lesquels aucune assurance n’est disponible (« risques non assurables »).

La formule de base / Risques désignés

Si vous voulez économiser de l’argent en assumant vous-même le risque financier à l’égard de certaines pertes, une police qui ne couvre que les risques désignés pourrait vous intéresser, car elle couvre uniquement les risques spécifiquement désignés dans le contrat.

La formule étendue

Si la formule tous risques « sauf » vous semble trop dispendieuse et si la police qui ne couvre que les risques désignés vous semble trop risquée, la police d’assurance étendue s’avérera un compromis à prix moyen. Cette police dispense une protection globale sur les articles coûteux, notamment le bâtiment, et une protection des risques désignés pour le contenu.

La formule sans superflu

Certains assureurs offrent une protection sommaire (« sans superflu ») pour les biens qui ne répondent pas à leurs normes habituelles. Si votre maison présente des problèmes d’ordre matériel qui l’empêchent de répondre aux normes des assureurs, vous ferez probablement des économies à long terme en réglant ces problèmes, afin d’obtenir une meilleure protection.

^Début

Liens | Carte du site | Confidentialité | Terminologie | Mise en garde     Bureau d’assurance du Canada. Tous droits réservés.